William Thien

Yeah, I Want Wheels with That Car, I Mean Cell Phone

Posted on: June 9, 2012

I’ve been without a cell phone for some time and using a landline phone and was currently in the market for a cell phone, though I’m not sure I am any longer. I purchased a prepaid and called the company to activate it and waited on the line for thirty minutes and still nobody answered. Went right back to the store.

When I was pricing various cell phones I discovered that even though the cell phones have multiple capabilities, voice, text, email, data, the corporations who offer the services have been clever enough, or perhaps I should say devious enough in dividing up the various services and pricing them out, even though you need all of the various services in order to get the cell phone in the first place. In other words, as most of you probably already know, you need to buy a voice plan, text plan, and a data plan in order to get the phone in the first place. Nothing new to anyone, I’m sure.

My problem is this. When you buy a car, your plan is to be able to drive it off the lot. The same goes for a cell phone in a sense. When you buy a cell phone, your plan is to be able to use it. But when you buy a car, it is supposed to come with everything you need to use it. They don’t charge you a separate price for the steering wheel, the engine, and the tires. But for some reason they do with cell phones and they get away with it. It’s all one signal. The information is transmitted on one signal. So you are really only paying for one service.

If you ask me, it is socially unethical the way cell phone providers get away with structuring the services in the way they do. And I know I’m not the only one with that impression. You have had that same impression, too, I know. It’s just that nobody is doing anything about it.

I am not a consumer advocate. I think people, companies, corporations should be able to make a dollar, a good dollar, huge profits. But this is one heck of a glaring example of corporate abuse of the American public and they get away with it.

Because the auto is a necessity in this country, the automobile industry has been subject to all sorts of particular rules and regulations, lemon laws, you name it, to curb corporate abuses of the general public, to control human nature, greed. Cell phones are becoming a necessity, too. When, I ask, will the cell phone industry meet the same regulation? Because it needs to.

Like I said, I am not a consumer advocate. I don’t want to go down that road, curtailing corporate behavior.

All I have to say is, “Yeah, I want wheels with that car, I mean cell phone!”

Copyright © William Thien 2012

Sign up to receive updates. It’s easy and safe. Just go to the upper right hand corner of this page and add your email address. We will never sell your contact information to anyone.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Find by month

Find by date

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
Follow William Thien on WordPress.com
