William Thien

Undecided? In a Way, Yes I Am Undecided. Just Not In The Way You Think.

Posted on: October 11, 2012

Lately you have heard and seen all kinds of ads talking about the political “undecideds” and the skits on late night shows about how by now if you haven’t decided on which candidate you are going to vote for there must be something wrong with you.

My problem is not which candidate I want to vote for, my problem is after listening to all the ads, seeing the blatant misrepresentations, and not really hearing what I want to hear, I haven’t decided if I want to vote or not. That’s what I’m undecided about. I haven’t decided if I am going to vote or not.

For one thing, both candidates, though obviously good at what they do, haven’t spoken to me about taxes. They both seem to suggest they are in a sense going to “hold the line” on taxes. One candidate even suggests we may even see a slight decrease in taxes, in the one or two percentile range. But it is only a suggestion, nothing substantive.

To me the issue of taxes is more like I should be seeing a ten or twenty percent tax decrease. And that’s just to get the ball rolling. One percent is just not cutting it, guys. It’s like they are frontmen for big government or somehow big government, in complicity with a media that likes big government has filtered out anyone that could actually offer the type of tax decrease I believe I should receive and we are left with two guys that merely want to hold the line on taxes, one even wants to raise taxes. After all is said and done, both may very well raise taxes. To me it seems like it is down to two guys who merely want to run the country because they want to be in charge, that they have something to prove due to being of a special segment of our society or something. Naturally, that counts someone like me out by definition. I don’t like that.

So, for all of you who are out there joking about those of us who may be undecided, I may just be one of them. I’d be willing to bet I’m not alone, though. The only difference between the undecideds is that I’m not undecided on who I’m going to vote for, I just haven’t decided if I want to vote or not.

And don’t tell me “well then I don’t have any say in what the government does, then.” Wrong. I pay taxes. I’m single with no writeoffs. I pay a lot of taxes. That’ll be the day before someone takes so much money from me on a weekly basis and everytime I buy something and gives it to lots of people that are doing things with it that I disagree with and tells me just because I don’t vote I have no say in what happens.

Copyright © William Thien 2012

Sign up to receive updates. It’s easy and safe. Just go to the upper right hand corner of this page and add your email address.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Find by month

Find by date

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Follow William Thien on WordPress.com
