William Thien

The Writ of Indenture, America’s Tax Code, Part II

Posted on: September 29, 2013

I hope you don’t feel I’m out of line, but listen to this.

I just popped into a sporting goods store to pick up some socks and upon entering the door I was asked to donate to a popular outdoors organization for children. They asked for $10.00. “Ten bucks, huh?” I asked.

After that I stopped at a coffee house and the barrister asked me to donate $5.28 to buy a scoop of coffee for a charity. $5.28?

In a matter of ten minutes I was asked to donate $15.28, $10 at the sporting goods store and $5.28 at the coffee house. Wow, I thought. That’s gotta be a new record for just entering into consecutive retail establishments.

I had already donated a meager sum this morning to an organization that helps to maintain the grave sites of fallen soldiers.

I told the barrister that I already donate to a number of charities regularly and would have to forgo a donation at this time. I felt kind of like I was being bum rushed, I must admit, and I made the off-hand remark, “Gawd, does everybody have their hands out these days?” It was probably in poor taste.

But coming from a single male with no property and no write-offs, I feel I’m already contributing my share to the great American welfare state, paying for unwed pregnancies, corporate welfare, too. I’m an indentured servant, a taxpayer surrogate of the American tax code and nobody is donating to my cause, you can be sure. It’s quite the opposite.

Copyright © William Thien 2013

Sign up to receive updates. It’s easy, safe, and free. Just go to the upper right hand corner of this page and add your email address.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Find by month

Find by date

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Follow William Thien on WordPress.com
