William Thien

An Observation on The So-Called Glass Ceiling and Gender Inequality

Posted on: December 8, 2014

Recently I’ve found myself in a number of loaded discussions centered on the subject of women in the workplace and how they are not equally paid and don’t achieve the leadership positions that men do on an equal scale.

I wanted to add some visual observations I’ve been making about the matter that I believe dispell most of belief that there is some organized method of inequality taking place.

The day after Thanksgiving I went to the bank to deposit some money and while standing in line I noticed that everyone working in the bank was female. All of the tellers were female. The drive-up people whom I could see from where I stood were females and the loan officers in their offices were female. Everyone working in the bank was female. And when I got to the window I asked and the answer was, yes, hey, isn’t that strange? Strange indeed, I thought.

After that I went to several big box retailers to shop and by taking a visual count of males to females in all of the stores and writing it down I determined that the average male to female ratio was in fact approximately 67 percent female workers to 23 percent male workers, even in the stores that we traditionally consider male dominated such as electronics.

But when there is a grunt job involving heavy lifting or really dirty work, it’s mostly occupied by men. That means that women are positioned better to take the leadership jobs in the first place because they are there in the office or making the sales while the men are holding the door for them and pushing in their chairs.

And in fact after 2008 when the economy took a nose dive more women for some time were working than men and it may still be that way, I don’t know.

My point is, to me the gender inequality is not visible. I don’t see it. I see more women working than men.

These of course are just visual observations, but at the very least I can say that to me when I consider where I myself work and where I shop and the places I frequent, more women work in those places than men and in fact in my place of work a woman runs the operation.

So, I just don’t see the gender inequality. To me, from what I can see, it doesn’t exist, unless you are talking about dangerous work or grunt jobs, there appear to be more women than men working.

This is just an observation. It may be that it’s just a damn good one is all.

If you have some stats you’d like me to see that aren’t put together by our government, I’d love to see them, by the way.

And all of this raises a serious question about the relationships of men and women in the workplace and have some workplaces just become too contentious for men to work in with all of the laws that govern their behavior and interaction with women that weren’t there just twenty years ago.

Copyright © William Thien 2014

Sign up to receive updates. It’s easy and safe. Just go to the upper right hand corner of this page and add your email address. We will never sell your contact information to anyone.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Find by month

Find by date

December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Follow William Thien on WordPress.com
